EXTENDING ANCIENT ART, SCULPTURE AND COLOR. 6 15 14

EXTENDING ANCIENT
ART,  SCULPTURE AND COLOR.

(The  Emperor  Hadrian ,
The Louvre, reference to “Much Ado About Nothing
)

……..
I was recently viewing  artwork cd’s . 
There was a bust of a Roman Emperor, Hadrian ;- The original
is noted  (WIKI)-first in the pics,
my coloring is 2nd., then the Louvre Building West Wing .
I was impressed with the lifelike appearance and ability of the sculptor to fashion the image . .
Wiki Hadrian 

If you notice, the original looks somewhat colorized, but to
achieve
 the coloring  effect in Adobe you first have to
convert the picture to B_W.

Also I know a lot more shading would have made this attempt more lifelike .
I think it the original was noted as being in the Louvre
of France.

If you’ve read  Shakespeare’s

play ” Much Ado about Nothing” a sculptor’s
talent makes a  lifelike    sculpture of
a character to have some time to reveal truth then  seemingly
  “resurrect” the  character “Hero” (a female
betrothed ) .
6 /23 /2014 –I apologize, I think I made a
mistake in referencing impressive lifelike  sculpture in
literature,I don’t think there is a statue in the play “Much Ado…..”
 I’ll have to reread  the play. 
but 
it’s in one of his plays ….:). That’d be for a Shakespeare
buff
to know.
 I never saw a sculpture that  I’d mistake for a person if
it was paitned to form, with  marble or cement. I would
think it’d be painstaking to achieve.
Maybe Madame Troudeu’s (?) wax sculptures.

So this is done with Adobe as an effect to give
more realism to the stone figure.
The eyes were the most difficult to give a realistic appearance . Actually woulda been easier to sketch .
The rest is done with layers and opacity to
keep the undershades .
I’ve retouched /colorized some older  b-w 
photos this way, the results are usually realistic .

Hadrian Colorized

SPACE FOR EDIT
Louvre

AND MORE  at 3:00 AM   my orginal
interest was in the sculpture aspect of this …. but here
goes more  
    …..

OK, so here i retouched to a portrait style realism . … And I’m
done .    

Retouch with emboss as a back
layer and darkening
and credited to his reign ….
2 Hadrian Pantheon
The Pantheon in Rome, one of the most famous buildings in
the world, was commissioned by the Roman emperor Hadrian.
The structure was built between 118 and 128, and replaced a
smaller temple. Hadrian was also responsible for building
the fortification wall in England known as Hadrian’s Wall.
Pantheon

OK……completed ….

Leave a Reply

